5 Minute Action for Saturday, 4/9: Critical For Our Democracy – Thank You To Collins and Coons For Their Leadership

It was a sad day when McConnell (see our 4/5 post) played the ‘nuclear option’ for the Gorsuch vote. It changed the way our Senate works, making it much more partisan.

In response, two Senators – Susan Collins (R-Maine) and Chris Coons (D-Delaware) – wrote a letter, which was subsequently signed by 61 Senators, urging them to maintain the 60-vote threshold for votes involving legislation. This is needed to ensure bipartisanship remains a component of passing bills through the chamber.

They were able to get the signatures of 28 Republicans, 32 Democrats and one independent –  evidence that a broad mix of senators back the fundamental concept that the Senate govern by bipartisan rules, despite the action by McConnell and the GOP today.

TODAY’s 5 Minute Action:

Step 1:  Amidst the divisive partisanship in Washington right now, please reach out and thank Susan Collins and Chris Coons for their leadership.

Step 2: If you have time, send a thank you to your state Senator, if they are listed below.


Thank you from the TrumpResistance.TODAY team

Signors of the Letter:  Senators Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), John McCain (R-AZ), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Luther Strange (R-AL), Richard Burr (R-NC), Angus King (I-ME), Mark Warner (D-VA), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Bob Casey (D-PA), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), John Boozman (R-AR), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Thune (R-SD), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Michael Enzi (R-WY), Jeff Flake (R-AZ), Dean Heller (R-NV), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Rob Portman (R-OH), Lamar Alexander (R-TN), John Kennedy (R-LA), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Joe Donnelly (D-IN), Jon Tester (D-MT), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Thomas Carper (D-DE), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Todd Young (R-IN), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Jack Reed (D-RI), Ed Markey (D-MA), Mike Lee (R-UT), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), and Bob Menendez (D-NJ).

For more complete information about the letter from Susan Collins website, click here  – https://www.collins.senate.gov/newsroom/senators-collins-coons-lead-effort-preserve-60-vote-threshold-legislation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s